PHILPOP 2016 Song Review: Nyoy Volante – Sintunado

Hola, Minister Mocha!

I will be reviewing all of the twelve songs that PHILPOP and Viva Records released early in June. My musical preference will be a hindrance for some songs that aren’t exactly up my alley, but I will try to be as objective as possible.

Moreover, I don’t write about music for a living, so don’t expect flowery bullshit. Go to NME, Radio Republic or some other music blog if you want beautiful words peppering a song review. <3

This post is all about Sintunado.

Jeroel Maranon, the song’s composer, is a first-time contestant to PHILPOP with his worship song, which an impressive feat. It’s also a depressing one when I consider the fact that the guy is two years younger than me.

If you haven’t heard about Jeroel Maranon, don’t fret about it: only indie scenegoers in Los Baños, Laguna would have probably heard of this guy when he was announced with the other finalists last March.

After a quick (and quite thorough YouTube search, I am pleasantly surprised to learn that he’s a member of an indie band called Three Days Later.

Here’s one of their songs, Believe:

*He’s the one on the lead guitar.

Hindi ko maintindihan yung lyrics, and the other videos of them performing also had the same, terrible volume control on the vocals. I found a song of theirs that actually has audibly lyrics, so here’s Memory:

They sound good, based on the two media I shared. They sound like Urbandub and Misery Business-era Paramore decided to get married and have a honeymoon baby. It’s an interesting sound that definitely makes me wish I was at SaGuijo when they played there.

Now, allow me to dissect the song.

I have to say that I really dig the do-re-mi-fa-sintunado sections of the song, because the notes are far from the actual notes the words connote. I actually sang the notes, just to be sure.

The overall mood of the song is a cheerful, kinda cheesy love song. That would be the case if we disregard the fact that this is a musical ode to the Lord. The lead guitar at the do-re-mi section adds a nice secular touch to the otherwise fruity love song to Jesus.

The lyrics stuck to the imagery of the guitar as the persona, and God being the instrumentalist that allows the persona to bloom. I like the images Maranon built, but I think the first line of the stanza after the first chorus sounded a bit awkward.

Nyoy Volante’s delivery reminds of Empe Lights: swabe yung pasok, malakas ang tama. Jeroel did well in choosing Nyoy, as he added an extra layer of sensory sweetness to what was already a nice love letter.

So…

To be honest, I really wasn’t into the song when I first listened to it. It took several listens before the song grew on me. I had a new level of appreciation towards it when I learned that the song is a worship song: the lines made more sense, and the Maestro-guitar relationship became more relatable.

It’s not exactly my cup of tea, but I’d take it for a spin as I commute to church on a humid Sunday morning.

Song Title: Sintunado

Composer: Jeroel Maranon

Interpreted by: Nyoy Volante

Leave a Reply

