PHILPOP 2016 Song Review: The Juans – Binibini Sa MRT

Hello Cornetto!

I will be reviewing all of the twelve songs that PHILPOP and Viva Records released early in June. My musical preference will be a hindrance for some songs that aren’t exactly up my alley, but I will try to be as objective as possible.

Moreover, I don’t write about music for a living, so don’t expect flowery bullshit. Go to NME, Radio Republic or some other music blog if you want beautiful words peppering a song review. <3

This entry will tackle Johann Garcia’s Binibini sa MRT.

I must admit that I have a personal bias against artists who are handled by major record labels. The songs these artists create are controlled, usually uninspired, and made to cater to a wide audience, whose taste usually doesn’t match with mine. Daniel Padilla, Kim Chiu, and Angeline Quinto are some of the artists who have released songs that I love to hate.

So you have to understand that I was partially decided with The Juans and their song before I even got to hear it. However, The Juans are not really that bad.

It’s probably my age, but they don’t sound as terrible as I first thought they would be. Apparently, the five-piece play their own instruments. If that’s true, then that’s great.

It’s not the kind of music I really dig, but Atin Ang Mundo sounds decent to be honest:

Prom is something that The Vamps, 5 Seconds of Summer, or One Direction could have performed if they were under Viva Records:

Meanwhile, Johann Garcia is a pretty interesting dude. The song’s composer has composed lovely instrumentals such as Ad Hominem and Stay With Me. He’s also written charming pieces, such as collegiate ballad Manong Guard:

If you think about it, the song is kinda creepy, but it’s wrapped in a nice alt-rock gift wrapper. The chorus is really catchy, and it’s a great listen.

However, my definite favorite of his is Starship Cruisers:

I mean, seriously, a Firefly quip out of nowhere? That’s not even counting Mass EffectStar Wars, and Star Trek? It’s a love song specifically written for sci-fi geeks. I can actually see some friends agreeing to this being their wedding song just because of the Firefly reference.

Garcia’s attractive songwriting shines in his PHILPOP entry. A love story that begins and blooms in MRT of all places makes it an interesting song in itself.

I for one find it intriguing because it’s really probable for people to fall for each other in a mass transportation system as crammed as the MRT. You don’t get any personal space in that thing, so getting to know the other person is a piece of cake. You wanna know what’s also easy to share in the MRT besides love? Sexual harassment, your wallet, and other people’s body odor.

God, I really hated that train line when I used to depend on it to commute to work.

I got to applaud The Juans for making this song their own. Johann did a terrific job arranging the song to help the five ease into the song. It sounds so natural to them that it almost feels like they were the ones who actually wrote the song.

So…

The Juans proved me wrong in thinking that they’re nothing more than just pretty boys; They’re pretty boys who can sing and play instruments, so that’s something. Johann Garcia is a terrific songwriter, and this song is a cute one on its own. I’ll be interested in any other material The Juans or Johann will come up with next.

Song: Binibini Sa MRT

Composer: Johann Garcia

Interpreted By: The Juans

Leave a Reply

